Institutional Biosafety Committee

Main Content

Southern Illinois University at Carbondale recognizes the need to protect faculty, staff, students and guests from incidents involving hazardous biological materials. To accomplish this, the University will conform to the most recent versions of applicable federal and state guidelines in letter and spirit with respect to acceptable standards for individuals conducting research and educational activities with hazardous biological materials. Current copies of safety standards are available from the Dean of the Graduate School and the Biological Safety Officer (BSO).

Responsibility for ensuring that faculty and staff who conduct research with hazardous biological materials conform to acceptable standards shall rest with the Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) and the Biological Safety Officer (BSO).

Committee

Dr. Andrew Wood, Institutional Biosafety Committee Officer
Professor
Plant Biology
Mail Code 6509
453-5609
wood@plant.siu.edu

Dr. Jennifer Harris, Vivarium Director
Laboratory Animal Program
Mail Code 6506
453-6452
jen.harris@siu.edu

Dr. Ruplal Choudhary
Plant, Soil, and Agricultural Systems
Mail Code 4415
453-2496
choudhry@siu.edu

Dr. Karen Hales
Physiology
Mail Code 6512
453-1548
khales@siumed.edu

Dr. Ami Ruffing
Research Compliance
Program Director
Vice Chancellor for Research Office
Mail Code 4344
453-4530
aruffing@cehs.siu.edu

John Lenzini
Community Development Manager
200 S. Illinois Avenue
Carbondale, IL 62901
(618)457-3251
www.explorecarbondale.com

Kyle Scerena
Public Health Environmentalist
Jackson County Health Department
(618)684-3143 ext 135
kyles@hchdonline.org

Judy Davie
Associate Professor
SIUC School of Medicine
453-5002
jdavie@siumed.edu

Lahiru Jayakody
Assistant Professor
School of Biological Sciences
453-2767
lahiru.jayakody@siu.edu

Marijorie Brooks
Associate Professor
School of Biological Sciences
453-7639
mlbrookds@siu.edu

Michael Lydy
Professor
School of Biological Sciences
453-4091
mlydy@siu.edu

Khalid Meksem
Professor
School of Agricultural Sciences
Mail Code 6508
453-3103
meksem@siu.edu

Leslie Korando
Safety/Environmental Compliance
Center for Environmental Health & Safety
453-1521
lkorando@cehs.siu.edu

 

Additional Information

Click the links to view additional information regarding Institutional Biosafety.