Institutional Biosafety Committee

Main Content

Southern Illinois University at Carbondale recognizes the need to protect faculty, staff, students and guests from incidents involving hazardous biological materials. To accomplish this, the University will conform to the most recent versions of applicable federal and state guidelines in letter and spirit with respect to acceptable standards for individuals conducting research and educational activities with hazardous biological materials. Current copies of safety standards are available from the Dean of the Graduate School and the Biological Safety Officer (BSO).

Responsibility for ensuring that faculty and staff who conduct research with hazardous biological materials conform to acceptable standards shall rest with the Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) and the Biological Safety Officer (BSO).

Committee

Dr. Andrew Wood, Committee Chair and Biological Safety Officer
Plant Biology
Mail Code 6509
453-5609
wood@plant.siu.edu

Dr. Joe Scimeca, Vivarium Director
Laboratory Animal Program
Mail Code 6506
536-2346
jscimeca@siu.edu

Dr. Ruplal Choudhary
Plant, Soil, and Agricultural Systems
Mail Code 4415
453-2496
choudhry@siu.edu

Dr. Karen Hales
Physiology
Mail Code 6512
453-1548
khales@siumed.edu

Ms. Ami Ruffing
Center for Environmental Health and Safety
Mail Code 6898
453-5187
aruffing@cehs.siu.edu

Mr. Paul Restivo
Center for Enivronmental Health and Safety
Mail Code 6898
453-7189
restivo@cehs.siu.edu

Mr. Steve Banker
Graduate School Representative
Mail Code 4709
453-4540
sbanker@siu.edu

Mr. Bart Hagston, Community Representative
Director, Environmental Health Division
Jackson County Health Department
PO Box 307
Murphysboro, IL  62966 
684-3143
barth@jchdonline.org

Ms. Kimberly Cole, Community Representative
Secretary, Southern Illinois Water Operators
Association and Laboratory Superintendent, City of Carbondale
Carbondale, IL 62901
457-8613
x223
kcole@ci.carbondale.il.us

Mandy King, Research Compliance Coordinator
Office of Sponsored Projects
Mail Code 4709
Carbondale, IL 62901
453-4530
mlking@siu.edu

Additional Information

Click the links to view additional information regarding Institutional Biosafety.